• Create Account

We're offering banner ads on our site from just $5!

1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

Getting team members and NDA

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
10 replies to this topic

#1 rpiller   Members   -  Reputation: 706

0Likes

Posted 02 January 2013 - 12:26 PM

Before I start looking to team members for a project I have, what do I need to know about NDA's? I don't want anyone I accept to join the project to be able to take my idea and/or code and go on their own and duplicate it. Is there some pre-made NDA's for this kind of stuff? Does there need to be anything more formal than just a document? Can they "digitally" sign this, ie just type their name on it?

Another question would be around content created for the game. I'm a programmer looking for an artist but anything the artist would create for said game I want to remain property of said game and not have the artist be able to some day say to me if I use their art they would sue me or something.

This would be for an indie non paid job. I want to work as a team with someone that's interested in the project I'm doing, but I also don't want to lose potentially months of work if the artist one day up and quits and tells me I'm not allowed to use the art they created for the game.

Thanks

Edited by rpiller, 02 January 2013 - 12:40 PM.

Sponsor:

#2 Tom Sloper   Moderators   -  Reputation: 10147

0Likes

Posted 02 January 2013 - 12:44 PM

1. I don't want anyone I accept to join the project to be able to take my idea ... and go on their own

2. Is there some pre-made NDA's for this kind of stuff?

3. Does there need to be anything more formal than just a document?

4. Can they "digitally" sign this,

5. ie just type their name on it?

1. That's unlikely, but an NDA is reasonable.