• Create Account

The Beginning

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
10 replies to this topic

#1 Darkwind   Members   -  Reputation: 116

1Likes

Posted 02 January 2013 - 04:38 PM

Hello Everyone, 

I'm going to start this with a bit about me. I am a relatively new programmer, and have been in the working world for the past 2 years now. My main programming language is C#. I have also dabbled in VB6 in the office, to support some of our legacy applications.

For the past 3 years I have been "mentoring" a team of students at a sixth form college in robotics, which is primarily coded in C++, also with this I have taught myself some Java, as one of the students wanted to learn it and apply it to robotics.

My question is, like many before me have asked, where should I begin to look at game developing?

My first stop on the road was to look at http://www.gamefromscratch.com/post/2011/08/04/I-want-to-be-a-game-developer.aspx which is about a year out of date, which seems to be a long time in the development circles.

A brief on the article says to avoid C++, is this a wise choice for starting out?

From that article I also started to look at XNA, however from doing a quick google it appears that Microsoft are not supporting this for windows 8, not that this is a big factor in my choices. As a MSDN holder, I have access to the full MS Development tools anyway.

My next stop would have to be Java, now I don't know if this is a misconception but I believe that it follows the same syntax and structure as C#, and seems to be widely support on the GDK side of things. Correct?

I'm going to preemptively try and answer a question I think I am going to get asked, and that is "What type of game do you want to make?"