Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

DDS Texture Compression


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 Alundra   Members   -  Reputation: 867

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 06 January 2013 - 11:37 AM

Hi,

DDS Texture compression is used a lot by a lot of game to render meshes.

Now, GPU is minimum 1go video ram and become to be 2go video ram.

Does it still needed ?

 

Thanks



Sponsor:

#2 jeffkingdev   Members   -  Reputation: 771

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 06 January 2013 - 12:35 PM

Absolutely!

DDS is just a file format. You can have an uncompressed DDS file. Although DXT compression is really good. Did you compare them? Some textures look just as good compressed as uncompressed.

Jeff.

#3 Chris_F   Members   -  Reputation: 2369

Like
2Likes
Like

Posted 06 January 2013 - 12:51 PM

You can never have enough memory. Ever.



#4 kauna   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2508

Like
2Likes
Like

Posted 06 January 2013 - 01:12 PM

Also, there is a slight performance advantage when using the block compressed texture formats (DXT / BC), since each block contains data of several texels and the typical texture access patterns make use of nearby texels. One block has data of 4x4 texels and it is compressed to 1:4 or 1:6 so sampling a compressed texture uses 1/4 or 1/6 of the memory bandwidth compared to non-compressed texture. The block decompression is implemented on the hardware and it is rather simple so it doesn't practically slow down.

Of course you don't need to use DDS as container, but there are already lots of tools for them.

Cheers!

Edited by kauna, 06 January 2013 - 03:47 PM.


#5 MJP   Moderators   -  Reputation: 11339

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 06 January 2013 - 02:34 PM

You can never have enough memory. Ever.

 

This. You might think it's crazy to use up all of that memory, but then one day you'll work with artists who come over to your desk and ask you why they can't put more than 16 textures on a mesh.



#6 phantom   Moderators   -  Reputation: 7267

Like
2Likes
Like

Posted 06 January 2013 - 03:10 PM

sampling a compressed texture uses 1/4 or 1/6 of the memory bandwidth.

 

It also allows the cache to keep more texels in memory at any given moment as they are taking up less space.






Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS