Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


I need some help with Visual Studio Express 2012.


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
17 replies to this topic

#1 MarkS   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 875

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 10 January 2013 - 09:39 PM

First and foremost, what forum should posts about IDEs/compilers go? Here or API and Tools?

 

This IDE is really getting me frustrated. The problem I am currently having (and I am sure there will be more) is with this very helpful (sarcasm) and incredibly annoying pop up that shows every time I try to type something. I don't know what this is and I am struggling to find how to turn it off. I might be able to find it in the options dialog if I knew what it was called, but there is little to no documentation supplied with the Express version. I guess I would call it "Auto Complete", but that isn't a listed option.

 

What on earth was Microsoft thinking? This is the worst interface design I have ever seen.

Attached Thumbnails

  • WHAT.jpg


Sponsor:

#2 MarkS   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 875

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 10 January 2013 - 09:44 PM

ARRGH!

 

Never mind. I found it immediately after posting this. My frustration level is rising with every passing moment. This is the second time that I found the answer after posting and the second time the answer was not where I would expect or called what I would expect.

 

Seriously, what were they thinking?



#3 AdrianC   Members   -  Reputation: 602

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:02 PM

Umm, that's probably one of the most useful features in the IDE. Ok maybe not, but its super useful.



#4 MarkS   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 875

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:13 PM

Umm, that's probably one of the most useful features in the IDE. Ok maybe not, but its super useful.

 

I don't doubt it is useful, but it is very distracting. I am in the middle of coding and fully concentrating when something pops up on screen. It causes me to stop what I'm doing. To make matters worse, it never stops. Just let me type.



#5 tstrimple   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 1718

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:14 PM

Indeed, it is one of the most useful features. No memorizing class names and APIs. Why would you want to turn that off? Type 'fl' and press tab and it will autocomplete float for you. Major efficiency improvements, and you won't even notice it after a while.


Edited by tstrimple, 10 January 2013 - 10:38 PM.


#6 MarkS   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 875

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:20 PM

Indeed, it is one of the most useful features. No memorizing class names and APIs. Why would you want to turn that off? Type 'fl' and press it will autocomplete float for you. Major efficiency improvements, and you won't even notice it after a while.

 

I want the IDE to give me the option and not assume that I want it, or, at the very least, make it clear where to turn it off. I am having to go through the options dialog in a hit or miss fashion to find these "features". It took me two days of Google searching to find out how to hack the themes to get it to something that didn't hurt my eyes. I didn't have these issues with 2010, but I don't want to go back. The new language features make the upgrade somewhat worth it. It is still an incredibly frustrating transition.


Edited by MarkS, 10 January 2013 - 10:20 PM.


#7 tstrimple   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 1718

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:25 PM

That must be C++ eh? The C# code completion is much less noisy.



#8 MarkS   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 875

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:31 PM

Yes, C++.



#9 tstrimple   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 1718

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:33 PM

Indeed, it is one of the most useful features. No memorizing class names and APIs. Why would you want to turn that off? Type 'fl' and press it will autocomplete float for you. Major efficiency improvements, and you won't even notice it after a while.

 

I want the IDE to give me the option and not assume that I want it, or, at the very least, make it clear where to turn it off. I am having to go through the options dialog in a hit or miss fashion to find these "features". It took me two days of Google searching to find out how to hack the themes to get it to something that didn't hurt my eyes. I didn't have these issues with 2010, but I don't want to go back. The new language features make the upgrade somewhat worth it. It is still an incredibly frustrating transition.

 

An IDE should make it's most useful features on by default and not default to notepad + compiler. You are by far in the minority for wanting to disable an autocomplete feature.


Edited by tstrimple, 10 January 2013 - 10:38 PM.


#10 MarkS   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 875

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:40 PM

Indeed, it is one of the most useful features. No memorizing class names and APIs. Why would you want to turn that off? Type 'fl' and press it will autocomplete float for you. Major efficiency improvements, and you won't even notice it after a while.

 

I want the IDE to give me the option and not assume that I want it, or, at the very least, make it clear where to turn it off. I am having to go through the options dialog in a hit or miss fashion to find these "features". It took me two days of Google searching to find out how to hack the themes to get it to something that didn't hurt my eyes. I didn't have these issues with 2010, but I don't want to go back. The new language features make the upgrade somewhat worth it. It is still an incredibly frustrating transition.

 

An IDE should make it's most useful features on by default and not default to notepad + compiler.

 

 

OK, I can see the point of view. Still, they shouldn't make it so difficult to find the options. I think most of my issues are due to the fact that I cannot afford anything more than the Express version. If I had an extra $500, I'd buy the Professional version in a heartbeat! They really gimp the Express version.



#11 tstrimple   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 1718

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:47 PM

OK, I can see the point of view. Still, they shouldn't make it so difficult to find the options. I think most of my issues are due to the fact that I cannot afford anything more than the Express version. If I had an extra $500, I'd buy the Professional version in a heartbeat! They really gimp the Express version.

 

Everything is available from tools -> options. If you're interested in the full versions, have you looked into DreamSpark or BizSpark? It doesn't take all that much to qualify for BizSpark and it will get you the Ultimate edition.



#12 MarkS   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 875

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 10 January 2013 - 11:09 PM

OK, I can see the point of view. Still, they shouldn't make it so difficult to find the options. I think most of my issues are due to the fact that I cannot afford anything more than the Express version. If I had an extra $500, I'd buy the Professional version in a heartbeat! They really gimp the Express version.

 

Everything is available from tools -> options. If you're interested in the full versions, have you looked into DreamSpark or BizSpark? It doesn't take all that much to qualify for BizSpark and it will get you the Ultimate edition.

 

Not everything is available in the Express edition, and I'm not just talking about interface issues. The Express version is severally restricted. Speaking of the interface issue, there are only two themes in the Express edition, light and dark. Both were causing me a great amount of eye strain. All of the other versions have a theme editor, but that is lacking in the Express version. Even the registry entries where the theme information would be stored is missing. Just to change the theme required an amazing amount of digging on Google.

 

I do this as a hobby. I seriously doubt that I would qualify for either of those two programs. I would have to stretch the truth to the point of breaking it and that just isn't me.



#13 EWClay   Members   -  Reputation: 655

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 11 January 2013 - 11:29 AM

Auto-complete can be both annoying and useful, but it is also quite configurable. It's worth playing with the options.

I turn off the more aggressive completion options. That way it only provides a list of members when I need it and doesn't interrupt me while I am typing names and keywords.

#14 MarkS   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 875

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 11 January 2013 - 11:43 AM

Auto-complete can be both annoying and useful, but it is also quite configurable. It's worth playing with the options.

I turn off the more aggressive completion options. That way it only provides a list of members when I need it and doesn't interrupt me while I am typing names and keywords.

 

After much cajoling, I got it to work like it did in 2010. dry.png angry.png


Edited by MarkS, 11 January 2013 - 11:46 AM.


#15 Hodgman   Moderators   -  Reputation: 27892

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 13 January 2013 - 05:57 PM

It would be nice to share your method, in case another poor googler comes across this thread ;)

#16 MarkS   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 875

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 13 January 2013 - 11:49 PM

It would be nice to share your method, in case another poor googler comes across this thread ;)

 

Method to what? Finding the solution? That involved using logical guesses in the Options dialog and much trial and error. There is little to no documentation with the Express versions, so I really do not know what it is that I did. unsure.png I just looked for things that sounded like it might have something to do with the issue I was having and then turned the options on and off until it worked. Basically, throwing darts blindfolded.



#17 Hodgman   Moderators   -  Reputation: 27892

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 14 January 2013 - 01:20 AM

Method to what?
Disabling the auto-complete helper dialog.
I really do not know what it is that I did. unsure.png I just looked for things that sounded like it might have something to do with the issue I was having and then turned the options on and off until it worked.
Oh, oh.

#18 MarkS   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 875

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 14 January 2013 - 04:49 PM

Yeah, bad, I know...

 

Microsoft's support of the Express versions irks me. They treat it like a demo version, all the while saying it is not. It really is the only version that most hobby developers can afford. I keep sticking with the Visual Studio because it is built by the maker of the OS, but since Microsoft doesn't support it, I might as well try Eclipse or something else.






Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS