• Create Account

Can someone mentor me?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
12 replies to this topic

#1 tiresandplanes   Members   -  Reputation: 133

0Likes

Posted 12 January 2013 - 10:09 AM

I have never programmed before and chose C++ as my first language to start with.  So I'm learning to program and C++ at the same time. I chose C++ as my first language because I want to use it the most out of any programming  language and even though I know it's harder to do this, I felt that this was the right path for me. 

I was wondering if someone would mentor me. I am currently reading C++ Primer and some things I understand how to do, but not necessarily what the use for them are. I am about 100 pages in, It's starting to touch on vectors and iterators and arrays and pointers and even if I learn how to use them, I don't understand what they are used for. 

I'm basically looking for someone who will be able to explain to me the bigger picture of certain things (as it pertains to game making/programming in general). I've heard it's good to surround yourself with people (or a person) that is more experienced or an expert because you'll gradually get better just by being around them and talking to them.

Please don't recommend me learning a different higher-level language because I don't plan on changing to anything else.

Sponsor:

#2 zacaj   Members   -  Reputation: 643

6Likes

Posted 12 January 2013 - 10:42 AM

If you're having problems understanding where stuff is actually used, your best bet is to actually try to program something real and see where they end up getting used.  That said, I'm up for answering some questions.  Feel free to PM/email/tweet/whatever me.

#3 Servant of the Lord   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 18242

8Likes

Posted 12 January 2013 - 11:02 AM