• Create Account

Java applet lags on web

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
8 replies to this topic

#1 Patriarch K   Members   -  Reputation: 212

0Likes

Posted 13 January 2013 - 12:17 PM

This is my first attempt of making an applet and it runs very smooth when I run it offline. But when I put it up on the web then every 3 seconds it lags and that is very annoying. I don't know if it's programming related or server related or anything since I'm new to applets.

Here is the link to my test game so that you can try it yourself and maybe you've seen similar stuff before and can give a hint since I have no clue.

Server related or programming related?

Here is the link:

http://epengweb.se/Rymd/Main.html

Sponsor:

#2 Dan Mayor   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 1712

2Likes

Posted 13 January 2013 - 03:49 PM

Your question is a bit to vague without prior knowledge of what you are doing.  The immediate guess is that you could be loading resources off the server which take transmission time and that could be causing your lag (as locally it would be reading near instantly from disk).  It could be a particular browser's implementation of Java that is causing the problem (not quite as likely as Java is Java, it runs in the JRE the difference with browsers is that the rendering / input hooks are routed through browser bindings as opposed to direct control).