Unable to get depth working in 2D engine

Started by
1 comment, last by alh420 11 years, 3 months ago

TL;DR: skip the first 3 paragraphs.

Hi! I've been toying around with building a 2D engine from scratch using Direct3D 11 for about a week, but I feel I'm in pretty deep water now and I could use some help. I'm very new to D3D, and I never used D3D9 for example, so most of what I've been able to accomplish is from looking at RasterTek's tutorials, and reading the MSDN documentation. Since 2D has been the plan all the way, I've ignored (and completely forgotten about) the Z dimension, but I feel it could come in handy again now for the rendered order of sprites, as my current approach seems very convoluted and inefficient.

First off, I have a stack of Scene objects to control the game state, inspired by the ScreenManager sample from XNA a while back. The scenes are updated from the top down, and when a Scene is closed (such as a menu for example) it is popped off the stack so the focus drops down to the next Scene, which could be the actual game in this example. Pointers to these Scene objects are then sent to my render subsystem and stacked in reverse order, as these will need to be rendered from the bottom up. This part works, and the scenes are rendered in the correct order.