• Create Account

We're offering banner ads on our site from just $5!

1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

GLSL Coloring per pixel?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
2 replies to this topic

#1 Konrad Jablonski   Members   -  Reputation: 483

0Likes

Posted 19 January 2013 - 10:45 AM

First of all thank you for taking time to answer my question.
I am very new to shaders.

I am trying to fade out my lines using shaders,
this picture shows exacly what I need:

whatIreallyreallywant%20copy.png

My Fragment Shader:
void main() {
gl_FragColor = vec4(1.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0);
}

My Vertex Shader:
void main() {
gl_Position = gl_ModelViewProjectionMatrix * gl_Vertex;
}

This works, and colors them red. Is there a way to check position of the pixel I am coloring. So then I can compare it to the distance away from the beginning of the line. Using that value to calculate the Alpha of the FragColor?
Unless there is another way?

Thank you smile.png

Edited by iLoveGameProgramming, 19 January 2013 - 10:48 AM.

Sponsor:

#2 Geometrian   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 1582

0Likes

Posted 19 January 2013 - 12:31 PM

Yes. The way is with gl_FragCoord. However, the standard way to so this is by coloring each vertex and then interpolating the color between them.

And a Unix user said rm -rf *.* and all was null and void...|There's no place like 127.0.0.1|The Application "Programmer" has unexpectedly quit. An error of type A.M. has occurred.

#3 powly k   Members   -  Reputation: 653

1Likes

Posted 19 January 2013 - 03:24 PM

So, in GLSL, you can pass variables from vertex shader to pixel shader. For those variables, you say "in" or "out" in their name, like this:
//vertex shader
smooth out vec3 pos;
void main() {
  pos = gl_Vertex.xyz;
  gl_Position = gl_ModelViewMatrix * gl_Vertex;