• Create Account

General Questions About Networking in FPS Games

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 Medo3337   Members   -  Reputation: 665

0Likes

Posted 19 January 2013 - 11:21 PM

Hi,

I'm just getting started into networking for FPS game, I have few questions:

1. How exactly should I send the game data from the server to the clients? Should I gather information about everything in the game and send it in one single packet?

2. What data format I can use to send the game data?

3. How do I send information about particles? like for example explosion, fire or smoke? should I send the position of each particle vertex? or just send a command to the clients to create the particles (what type, position, etc...) without sending any further information about it? I guess this could be a problem since UDP data is not guaranteed to arrive.

Sponsor:

#2 Deortuka   Members   -  Reputation: 493

1Likes

Posted 20 January 2013 - 11:52 AM

1. You will send the the data from the server to the client via sockets. It would be wise to make sure the only information you send is updates. For example, you send a power up's position to a client and now that client will see that power up at that location. The only time you will need to update the position of that power up to that client again is if it has moved. This approach will help minimize the bandwidth needed by the server.

2. This is entirely up to you. A good start is to send everything in "messages". For example, a player position message would be sent as:

[PLAYER_POSITION_MESSAGE]
[
    [PLAYER ID] (32 bits)
    [POSITION_X] (32 bits)
    [POSITION_Y] (32 bits)
]