Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

ipad - safari site layout )-;


Old topic!

Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.


  • You cannot reply to this topic
23 replies to this topic

#1   Members   -  Reputation: 4391

Posted 20 January 2013 - 08:28 AM

Hi,

Since a few weeks the layout of pages on www.gamedev.net are not readable anymore, meaning the layout is completely messed up.

Frames zoomed in, other frames missing.

 

Anyone else have this problem/ how do I solve it?

(maybe some setting or it's trying to load a 'mobile' version of the site)


Crealysm game & engine development: http://www.crealysm.com

Looking for a passionate, disciplined and structured producer? PM me


#2   Staff Emeritus   -  Reputation: 5674

Posted 20 January 2013 - 05:31 PM

Does the layout still look at all like the non-mobile version of it?   I know the right hand column is removed if the browser resolution is lower than 1024px.



#3   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4509

Posted 21 January 2013 - 04:06 AM

It looks like this for me. https://www.dropbox.com/s/gmj8z7iqppdyi3z/Photo%2021-01-13%2023%2004%2044.png
if you think programming is like sex, you probably haven't done much of either.-------------- - capn_midnight

#4   Members   -  Reputation: 4391

Posted 21 January 2013 - 09:50 AM

Jep, it does look like this on my iPad too


Crealysm game & engine development: http://www.crealysm.com

Looking for a passionate, disciplined and structured producer? PM me


#5   Staff Emeritus   -  Reputation: 5674

Posted 21 January 2013 - 07:39 PM

=P whoa.. that does indeed look like crap. It's definitely Safari related.. looking into it.

UPDATE: Any better?

Edited by Michael Tanczos, 21 January 2013 - 08:50 PM.


#6   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4509

Posted 22 January 2013 - 02:22 PM

UPDATE: Any better?

No. Still looks the same for me.


if you think programming is like sex, you probably haven't done much of either.-------------- - capn_midnight

#7   Staff Emeritus   -  Reputation: 5674

Posted 22 January 2013 - 05:22 PM

Is the page cached in your browser (can you hard refresh?)   I'm on OSX right now and I can scale Safari to any size now and it is working well.


Edited by Michael Tanczos, 22 January 2013 - 05:22 PM.


#8   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4509

Posted 23 January 2013 - 03:08 PM

Sorry, still the same problem.

edit: to be clear, I wiped my history then tried a new page that I know I haven't visited on the ipad yet.

Edited by ChaosEngine, 23 January 2013 - 03:09 PM.

if you think programming is like sex, you probably haven't done much of either.-------------- - capn_midnight

#9   Members   -  Reputation: 241

Posted 24 January 2013 - 12:35 AM

The site looks similar in chrome on the iPad too,

https://www.dropbox.com/s/t2gf3eguubujmjz/2013-01-24%2006.32.28.png

#10   Members   -  Reputation: 1290

Posted 24 January 2013 - 02:27 AM

It looks mashed-up on iPad, but Chrome on my Win7 works like it should!



#11   Members   -  Reputation: 1358

Posted 24 January 2013 - 11:22 AM

It does indeed look like crap on ipad since a few weeks back.
:(

#12   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4509

Posted 24 January 2013 - 02:50 PM

Chrome on iOS isn't really chrome, it's just a reskinned safari with your chrome bookmarks, etc. The rendering engine is completely different to desktop chrome.


if you think programming is like sex, you probably haven't done much of either.-------------- - capn_midnight

#13   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2123

Posted 24 January 2013 - 02:50 PM

same issue here.


"The only thing that interferes with my learning is my education"

Albert Einstein

"It is a miracle that curiosity survives formal education"

Albert Einstein

 


#14   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4275

Posted 24 January 2013 - 02:53 PM

ChaosEngine, on 21 Jan 2013 - 10:06, said:
It looks like this for me. https://www.dropbox.com/s/gmj8z7iqppdyi3z/Photo 21-01-13 23 04 44.png

Looks the same in Safari on my iPad too, practically unusable.
Under Chrome it looks better (see sednihp's screenshot) and is usable but everything is chunkier as of the past few weeks. Before that it looked fairly similar (if not the same) as Chrome on my PC, which I preferred. It's almost as though it is trying to be a mobile-optimised version of the forum except things just aren't laying out correctly.

. David Gill :: GitHub :: twitter .


#15   Staff Emeritus   -  Reputation: 5674

Posted 24 January 2013 - 07:27 PM

How about now?

#16   Members   -  Reputation: 1358

Posted 25 January 2013 - 12:55 PM

Cleared the cache, but it still looks the same... Takung up about half the screen, with huge fonts and zoomed images.

I could be wrong, but I get the feeling that the site is detecting Ios, and attempts to display something that might fit an iphone screen. Does anyone have an Iphone to try with?

#17   Members   -  Reputation: 4391

Posted 26 January 2013 - 12:19 PM

I still have the same on IPad (1), no iPhone though


Crealysm game & engine development: http://www.crealysm.com

Looking for a passionate, disciplined and structured producer? PM me


#18   Staff Emeritus   -  Reputation: 5674

Posted 26 January 2013 - 01:34 PM

I tried it on Chrome, Safari (both Windows and OSX), Firefox, and a Iphone/Ipad simulator and can't reproduce any of the problems anymore.   What pages are not working for you guys?



#19   Members   -  Reputation: 4391

Posted 26 January 2013 - 03:36 PM

it starts at www.gamedev.net homepage already, see screenshot above


Crealysm game & engine development: http://www.crealysm.com

Looking for a passionate, disciplined and structured producer? PM me


#20   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4275

Posted 26 January 2013 - 05:27 PM

I tried it on Chrome, Safari (both Windows and OSX), Firefox, and a Iphone/Ipad simulator and can't reproduce any of the problems anymore.   What pages are not working for you guys?

I misplaced my iPad for a few days but it is now back with me and I am happy to report that GDNet appears to render, layout and function as it used to on both Chrome and Safari. I am in fact making this post on my iPad 3 :-)

I haven't taken any deliberate action to make it work for me, it just worked.

. David Gill :: GitHub :: twitter .





Old topic!

Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.




PARTNERS