• Create Account

Version control for begginers

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
49 replies to this topic

#1 buumchakalaka   Members   -  Reputation: 268

3Likes

Posted 20 January 2013 - 12:26 PM

Hi all!

Some people recommend me to use any version control software for help me in the organization and realization of my proyects. Im looking for information about source control and Im realy lost with the lot of things I readed in some minutes. Git, Merculial, Perforce, Bitbucket, etc, etc.

The only I need is a tool for support and made development easier, but from what I'm reading it seems that I will only complicate my proyects with those softwares. 

I want to focus in make games, not in learn to use a source control software,

so, what is the best option for a complete beginner in this matter? 

Thanks you very much for the help!

Sponsor:

#2 Inuyashakagome16   Members   -  Reputation: 835

1Likes

Posted 20 January 2013 - 12:34 PM

I personally use Git for my personal projects. (C++ with DirectX) and it works fine! I have a repo through bitbucket.org Whether Git is the easiest way to go or not I'm not sure. For me it wasn't hard to setup but I've read up on how to start. (Which bitbucket has a tutorial section on how to setup a repo and your Git client) The only thing about Git and really many other version control systems is the ignore file. I didn't know what this was till recently. Pretty much the Git system has a file named ".gitignore" which you put file extensions that you don't want git to include when pushing changes. (Like special files for Visual Studio that are specific for that system in case you're going between multiple computers coding)

http://www.vogella.com/articles/Git/article.html < Very decent tutorial for Git.