• Create Account

Location-based Action-RPG [Mobile]

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
2 replies to this topic

#1 Rudy Crimson   Members   -  Reputation: 105

0Likes

Posted 23 January 2013 - 08:20 AM

Hi there,

I've been reading the forum for a bit more than a year and I find the discussions quite useful and informative, but I've yet to encounter a thread that really poses and/or attempts to answer my own paradigms in game development.

I have a strong background in C++, C# and Java most of my undergraduate education focused on C++ for computational physics. At the moment, I'm an independent programmer working on Objective-C applications for iOs. I've taken courses on functional programming using Scala; taught myself Ruby, Python, Perl, PHP; and, at the moment, I've taken upon myself to learn more about Clojure and the lisp dialects that I touched upon vaguely during my college years (4 years ago). All these skills have proven trivial when it comes to accomplishing my primary goal of making my very own game. 

I am envisioning a location-based 3D Action RPG with feasible properties that allow users to interact with other players in the vicinity (square-mile radii). The game itself will not depend solely on the players involved as there will be automated (AI) challengers which will comprise 57-68% of the population. In essence, players will have the ability to group together in teams, co-exist, and compete with one another; but, in reality, the majority of the game will have automated characters that will help us reduce the cost of production and/or inflicting too much burden on the servers [both of these are not mutually exclusive]. We are, of course, willing to attract investors and garner profits in order to grow as needed.