Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Glut and openGL ? difference ?


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
8 replies to this topic

#1 bg3ntl   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 18 October 2001 - 03:13 AM

Hi there, im a bit of a beginner to ogl, trying to move away from dastardly dx8 very curious about this since ive never had it cleard up - Glut and openGL are not the same thing are they ? my interpretation is that Glut is library of functions for ogl to make it simpler for them to write code, not having to worry about initialisation stuff. why do ppl use Glut and not just plain ogl ? is it just as fast as using plain ogl ? do professional game developers use Glut ? if i want to use ogl but not use Glut how do i go about it in windows ? im guessing good old winapi and creating windows, hwnds etc. any help would be appreciated cheers, bg3ntl '''' That''''s a nice little nothing you are almost wearing. ''''

Sponsor:

#2 benjamin bunny   GDNet+   -  Reputation: 838

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 18 October 2001 - 04:41 AM

People use GLUT in order to get simple Opengl programs up and running with the minimum of code. You can do anything with GLUT that you can with OpenGL, because GLUT is just a toolkit for OpenGL (as the name would suggest). Besides cutting out the initialization stuff, GLUT includes lots extra features such as menus, keyboard input and functions to support drawing of primatives such as spheres and cubes.

I would recommend using it if you''re just starting out with OpenGL. As far as I know, no professional games have been written with GLUT, as there is, I''m told (although I haven''t tested this), some performance hit, and until recently GLUT couldn''t be run fullscreen.

If you want to use OpenGL without GLUT, then take a look at NeHe''s tutorials (there''s a link to them from the main page).

If you want to try GLUT, go to my web site and look in the tutorials section.

www.elf-stone.com

#3 Sebbi   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 18 October 2001 - 08:17 AM

@Benjamin ... it is not really true that glut doesn''t support fullscreen opengl ... you can get it with the glutEnterGameMode function or something like that ... in the last time i am using the winapi instead of glut ...

I will give everybody the hint to implement their projects with the native winapi ... glut is just good for small tuts or when you want a demo to be compiled under another os like linux or openbsd, ...

and the performance of glut is most recently good ... but for greater projects it is better to control the pipelines and window- messages yourself because you will get more control to keyhandling and redrawing and so on ... it might speed up your program ... and how i understand it you know directx ... for input you should use directinput ...

cu

#4 Vaporisator   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 18 October 2001 - 10:15 AM

quote:
Original post by benjamin bunny
(...)and until recently GLUT couldn''t be run fullscreen.





Yesterday we still stood at the verge of the abyss,
today we''re a step onward!

#5 Outworlder   Members   -  Reputation: 100

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 18 October 2001 - 01:48 PM

Well, there''s one game using GLUT, unless they stopped using it on the retail version(but then, why would them?):

www.uplink.co.uk

Gaiomard Dragon
-===(UDIC)===-

#6 bg3ntl   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 18 October 2001 - 03:56 PM

thnx for all your help guys

'''' That''s a nice little nothing you are almost wearing. ''''

#7 masonium   Members   -  Reputation: 118

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 18 October 2001 - 04:04 PM

GLut is built on top of OGL. Without OGL, you can''t use GLut. Some don''t use GLut because they claim it has a performance hit, but it is good to use until you get familiar with the windowing system of Win32, Linux or whatever. Another problem is that it''s based on callback functions and allows for less flexibility than a regular program, in my opinion.

#8 Crazy_Vasey   Members   -  Reputation: 100

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 19 October 2001 - 05:00 AM

GLUTs alright unless you need quick keyboard input, i''ve founf keyboard input to be a bit iffy in GLUT.

#9 YodaTheCoder   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 20 October 2001 - 07:40 AM

... How easy can it be?

glutFullScreen();

ooh, that was tough.. =)

~jesse




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS