• Create Account

iOS Development on PC

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
17 replies to this topic

#1 rancineb   Members   -  Reputation: 357

0Likes

Posted 05 February 2013 - 09:38 AM

So as a continuation from a previous thread I opened asking about iOS/Android tools, I wanted to ask a follow-up specifically about tools for creating iOS apps on a PC.  Since I'm just starting out and won't be building any games just yet, I think the result was to use xCode initially to get use to building iOS apps.  Unfortunately, I don't have a mac (I use PC) and don't plan on buying a Mac just to play around with iOS apps.

Is there a partner tool out there similar to xCode to build apps for iOS that runs on Windows?  I can't imagine that Apple shuts out anyone who has a PC, but wouldn't be surprised though either.  Originally I was hoping to find something that would work for iOS and Android, but right now my main focus is to make some basic apps for iOS so I don't' care about Android at this point.

Thanks for your help... again.

Sponsor:

#2 LordRhys   Members   -  Reputation: 349

0Likes

Posted 05 February 2013 - 10:26 AM

I guess that depends on what you want to develop, Unity Pro allows you to program on the PC and convert and deploy for iOS and Android, I think Monogame and monodevelopment environment will allow you to do iOS development.

#3 rancineb   Members   -  Reputation: 357

0Likes

Posted 05 February 2013 - 10:32 AM

Initially I plan on created some basic education apps that will be used in elementary schools for teaching math.  Nothing big, some simple apps that will have some colorful graphics to make it appealing for kids.  Not venturing into games yet so don't need tools like Unity.

#4 Moe091   Members   -  Reputation: 566

0Likes

Posted 05 February 2013 - 10:42 AM