Any good java programming books for begginers?

Started by
12 comments, last by ninuson 11 years, 2 months ago

Hello! After I heard that Microsoft is cutting xna, and i tried experimenting with it, I decided that would like to use java as my first programming language. Now, are there any good game programming books for it? I looked, but I have seen books that are outdated. Thanks in advance!

EDIT: I see that I am an idiot and spelled beginner wrong *facepalm*

Advertisement

I would recommend learning C# or C++ over Java if you really want to do game development that is. There are plenty of books that could teach you java without making games or are you specifically looking for ones in which you make games?

You can still write games in C# with different APIs, or even use GDI.

If your looking for ones specific to game development, I imagine it will be slim pickings. Games are not typically made in java so there will not be that many books on the subject of game development using Java. You might try looking into android game development as that would use java but would likely have newer titles, but they'd be written for an android development.

why not you learn c++ instead ?? C++ is faster than Java, however its up to you :)
if you change your mind and want to learn C++ instead, here is a book i recomended

Beginning C++ Through Game Programming [Amazon]

why not you learn c++ instead ?? C++ is faster than Java, however its up to you smile.png
if you change your mind and want to learn C++ instead, here is a book i recomended

Beginning C++ Through Game Programming [Amazon]

I have an older edition of this book and it was amazing. I recommend this book as well.