Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Application Name and Icon Help


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
9 replies to this topic

#1 ProvenDantheman   Members   -  Reputation: 111

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 12 February 2013 - 07:03 PM

I'm using:
C++

Code::Blocks

glut

OpenGL

Linux

 

On the top of the screen, you have a title, and an icon. My icon is blank and the title is unknown. Any ideas on how to fix this?

View the attachment.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Screenshot from 2013-02-12 20:02:30.png


Sponsor:

#2 Captacha   Members   -  Reputation: 141

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 12 February 2013 - 07:46 PM

Have you tried setting a custom name and title in glut? http://www.opengl.org/resources/libraries/glut/spec3/node27.html



#3 ProvenDantheman   Members   -  Reputation: 111

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 12 February 2013 - 07:48 PM

Have you tried setting a custom name and title in glut? http://www.opengl.org/resources/libraries/glut/spec3/node27.html

I have not. Thank you for the suggestion, I'll try it and update you on my problem smile.png

 

I tried the function. It changed the name of the OpenGL window, but not the name in the Activities bar above. Thanks for the suggestion :)


Edited by ProvenDantheman, 12 February 2013 - 07:51 PM.


#4 BitMaster   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3790

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 13 February 2013 - 05:00 AM

There might be some way to solve this hidden in the depths of GLUT (or its newer and still maintained implementation freeglut), but mostly GLUT is just a quick and dirty way to get an OpenGL window quickly with the minimum amount of fuzz. It's not intended to offer access to the more detailed OS infrastructure. If you want something like that, consider SFML, GLFW or similar libraries.

#5 Dragonsoulj   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2035

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 13 February 2013 - 08:32 AM

Sounds like setting it with GLUT is just setting the window title, not the application title. Is there a way to set an application title? Been a long time since I used GLUT.



#6 ProvenDantheman   Members   -  Reputation: 111

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 13 February 2013 - 02:50 PM

Sounds like setting it with GLUT is just setting the window title, not the application title. Is there a way to set an application title? Been a long time since I used GLUT.

I'm not sure, I'll try to look into it more.



#7 ProvenDantheman   Members   -  Reputation: 111

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 13 February 2013 - 07:35 PM

I'm stumped :/



#8 BitMaster   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3790

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 14 February 2013 - 02:37 AM

The most likely scenario is: there is no solution with GLUT. As I said, GLUT is a quick and dirty way to whip up a window. It's great for a quick test or a demo. It's not intended for anything resembling a full-fledged application.

#9 ProvenDantheman   Members   -  Reputation: 111

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 14 February 2013 - 07:38 PM

I created an application in code::blocks using a template, and it yielded the same results.



#10 ProvenDantheman   Members   -  Reputation: 111

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 16 February 2013 - 12:20 PM

I sort of figured out the issue. I ran the application with an Ubuntu session, as opposed to a Gnome3 session. In Ubuntu, the title displays fine. In Gnome, it does not.

 

I've created .desktop files in Gnome, using the specifications required, but that yielded me with no results. I ended up having a nice looking launcher for the app, but the title displayed incorrectly.






Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS