• Create Account

How long does it take to learn Particle Rendering with DX11 Compute Shader without prior DX experience ? (Other necessary information provided inside)

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 Rayphoenix   Members   -  Reputation: 122

0Likes

Posted 18 February 2013 - 01:09 AM

Hello, I am new to DirectX (never touched directX) and currently I am going to start my Bachelor Thesis, which is to render a particle systems with dx11 compute shader (C++) and test the performance advantage of it. rolleyes.gif

My related prior experience:

- C++ language

- learning the very basic stuffs of OpenGL & Computer Graphics

- creating simple 3D strategy game with C++ & DarkGDK + Lua

- creating 3D FPS game with Unity3D

- creating simple 2D HTML5 Game with javascript

- playing around with game development/game programming (the high level approach)

I seldom go low level like directX, now I want to try it, and I really need your information, biggrin.png

do u guys think I can manage to finish it in around 3-4 months ? (for my bachelor thesis) cool.png

What's the approximated time to learn rendering a moderate particle systems with dx11 compute shader ? blink.png  (based on my prior experience stated above)

I heard that Compute Shader is on advance category, is it that difficult ?

Really appreciate your help laugh.png

Edited by Rayphoenix, 18 February 2013 - 02:06 AM.

Sponsor:

#2 Tom KQT   Members   -  Reputation: 1622

0Likes

Posted 18 February 2013 - 01:52 AM

That's really hard to tell without knowing how good in learning you are. I would bet some people could do it in a week (or course not the whole thesis, just to learn and make a working simple compute shader particle system). And many people wouldn't learn it in years.