Need some feedback and advice!

Started by
3 comments, last by Thespanishcomposer 11 years, 1 month ago

Hey guys,

I would love some feedback on this sound replacement Scene from Half-Life 2 that I have done. All of the Sound and Music were created in FMOD and then internally recorded into Cubase to be synced up to the video. This is the first bit of work that I have done in FMOD.

">

I was also hoping to get some advice on getting into freelance or permanent employment within the games industry as a sound designer/music composer (UK). I am currently studying music technology at university and have a passion for audio, music and of course video games!

Basically where do I start? I have a very broad range of skills in audio and composition and I would definitely like to start working (even for free!) with some developers to get a taste for the industry.

Where would I find the appropriate people to talk to? Should I be contacting major and independent games companies directly? Should I start lower down with some very small games developers and work for free?

I know this may be quite a common topic on this forum but I would really appreciate some advice!

All the best,

Jake

Advertisement

Hey Jake,

Firstly, I don't think the link works, well for me I get a 404 error, so a fix for that asap would be grand, as for starting in the music industry for video games / freelance, I'm in the same boat, however I can share what I've learned from people here and from other sources.