• Create Account

Today marks one year since I started programming

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
7 replies to this topic

#1 ISDCaptain01   Members   -  Reputation: 1395

9Likes

Posted 26 February 2013 - 12:37 AM

So on this day, last year I picked up my c++ book and got started programming, I can definately say its been challeging. I barely knew anything about the stuff. I worked myself through the basics and some of the more advance stuff like operator overloading and pointer manipulation went over my head the first 4 months or so. By the end of August, I got a basic grasp of the language. Then in september I decided to get familar with visual c++ 2010. I learned how to make header, implementation and source files, and got a basic control on the IDE. I also made a pong clone following a tutorial. By mid-October I was like "okay I want to learn about data structures, cause I feel im missing out since the CS majors were taking it". I get a copy of Data Structures for Game Programmers and work my way through it. I learned about basic algorithm analysis, templates and all the various data structures. Since the book was using SDL, I decided to pause and get a basic idea of SDL. That took me 2 weeks. Then I continued through the book, learning the data structures (and cool stuff like the branch prediction unit). Now Im 60% done with the book. I plan to start Allegro within the next copule of months and max out all my skills in it. I want to make tons of shareware quality games for atleast a year. Then I might hit 3D programming

All I can say its amazing how much Ive learned. Its been amazingly fun and interesting endeavor. The most imporatant thing that helped was self-discipline. I was able to sit down everyday for atleast an hour and learn. And thats what im going to continue doing.