• Create Account

We're offering banner ads on our site from just $5!

1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

Trying to move sprite towards mouseclick

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 mollekake   Members   -  Reputation: 143

0Likes

Posted 28 February 2013 - 03:25 AM

Hello.

I'm fairly new to xna/c# and i'm starting to get a grasp on the whole game mechanics.

But i'ev run into an issue.

I want my sprite to move across the screen to my desired destination.

I can almost get this to work.

what i have so far:

i click somewhere on the screen, the sprite moves towards the mouse position, BUT if i move the mouse before the sprite reaches it's location it will follow the mouse. when it reaches the location, it stops and i can move the mouse.

what i want:

click anywhere on screen, sprite moves towards position while i can freely move mouse around, even click a new position and the sprite goes to that position instead.

here is my code so far:

MouseState mouseState = Mouse.GetState();                                 //get the current mouse state 
            mousePosition = new Vector2(mouseState.X, mouseState.Y);     //get the target (the mouse cursor) 
            direction = (Vector2)mousePosition - Position;     //get the direction from arrow to cursor 
            direction.Normalize();
            Vector2 target;
            if (mouseState.LeftButton == ButtonState.Released && oldState.LeftButton == ButtonState.Pressed)
            {
                target = mousePosition;
                move = true;
            }
            target = mousePosition;  //this is the line that causes issues, but i can't remove it either.
            if (Vector2.Distance(target, Position) > 3 && move.Equals(true))
            {