• Create Account

Android turn based multiplayer: how to implement

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
4 replies to this topic

#1 willmer   Members   -  Reputation: 142

0Likes

Posted 28 February 2013 - 11:01 AM

I am fairly new to Android development but feel confident in my ability to learn and implement new concepts.  I have been working on a Pokemon-style battle game and right now would like to focus on the multiplayer.  It would be a simple 2 player battle where each player has one monster that is fighting (maybe more in the future).  It would be turn based but I'm putting in a speed system where the order of who goes may change depending on the move used, but it is still turn based.  Having a lobby where people can select who they want to fight would be nice too.

What options do I have to implement this multiplayer battle system and which of those options is going to be easier to learn?

I have seen people suggest Skiller SDK, but it appears to be too limited to use, maybe not.  I only have a very basic understanding of servers so it would be a lot to learn (and maybe pay for?).  I know things change if I want the battle to be hosted some  place or just have the phones communicate back and forth (the latter is preferred).

Sponsor:

#2 hplus0603   Moderators   -  Reputation: 4517

1Likes

Posted 28 February 2013 - 11:25 AM

You could probably build this game on top of any web framework and database. Which one you are more likely to learn easily depends on what your experience and available services is.
The matchmaking and games could be done with polling for a game that's not too big. Once the game gets big, hopefully there's enough money to help build a dedicated version :-)

Some names to check out:
PHP and CodeIgniter
Ruby and Rails
Erlang and Nitrogen
Haskell and Yesod