Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

HDMI laptop to TV


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
13 replies to this topic

#1 hikarihe   Members   -  Reputation: 243

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 February 2013 - 01:24 PM

Has anyone successfully done this? If so please guide me ^ ^

 

My TV recognizes the laptop and opens the correct HDMI channel but says "no video signal".



Sponsor:

#2 Dennisvb   Members   -  Reputation: 160

Like
2Likes
Like

Posted 28 February 2013 - 02:31 PM

Make sure your laptop is using the hdmi output, my laptop, a xps 15, has a special button for this.

#3 BCullis   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 1813

Like
2Likes
Like

Posted 28 February 2013 - 02:34 PM

You might have to enable it as a secondary output on the laptop, just like you would do with a second monitor on a desktop system.  Are you running a Windows OS?


Hazard Pay :: FPS/RTS in SharpDX
DeviantArt :: Because right-brain needs love too

#4 Dunge   Members   -  Reputation: 405

Like
2Likes
Like

Posted 28 February 2013 - 02:53 PM

Go to nvidia control panel / catalyst control center / whatever equivalent for intel card and check the second monitor.



#5 slicer4ever   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3990

Like
2Likes
Like

Posted 28 February 2013 - 02:54 PM

the laptop should see the tv if you configure your screen resolution(assuming windows here), make sure it's enabled as a second montior.  most laptops also come with a button on the F keys that provide such functionality as well.


Check out https://www.facebook.com/LiquidGames for some great games made by me on the Playstation Mobile market.

#6 hikarihe   Members   -  Reputation: 243

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 February 2013 - 08:32 PM

Make sure your laptop is using the hdmi output, my laptop, a xps 15, has a special button for this.

 how do i check this? i think it isn't because when i go to screen resolution it only allows me to choose VGA displays from either Nvidia Geforce or Intel Graphics HD.



#7 hikarihe   Members   -  Reputation: 243

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 February 2013 - 08:34 PM

You might have to enable it as a secondary output on the laptop, just like you would do with a second monitor on a desktop system.  Are you running a Windows OS?

yes windows 8. How do I enable it?



#8 hikarihe   Members   -  Reputation: 243

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 February 2013 - 08:38 PM

the laptop should see the tv if you configure your screen resolution(assuming windows here), make sure it's enabled as a second montior.  most laptops also come with a button on the F keys that provide such functionality as well.

I tried configuring the screen resolution but only VGA is allowed through the graphic adapters (Nvidia and Intel). I tried win+P to change modes (duplicate screen, extend) and Fn+5



#9 hikarihe   Members   -  Reputation: 243

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 February 2013 - 08:45 PM

Go to nvidia control panel / catalyst control center / whatever equivalent for intel card and check the second monitor.

 

It's already enabled for "multiple displays". There are two: monitor & built in display.


Edited by hikarihe, 28 February 2013 - 08:52 PM.


#10 gretty   Members   -  Reputation: 215

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 01 March 2013 - 03:46 AM

I am writting a program to programmatically change the 2nd monitor(a LCD TV connected via HDMI) to extended display. So I've had a lot of experience with doing it non-programmatically lately lol. The program is a pain in the ass but almost there.

 

In Windows 7 you go to Control Panel -> Appearance & Personalisation -> Display -> Click 'Change Display Settings' on the left menu -> In the 'Multiple Displays' dropdown menu select 'Duplicate these displays' to show your laptop. If you click 'Extend these displays' it will extend your desktop window so its wider and when you drag your mouse to the far right of the screen(off screen) it will appear on your TV. Extend is good for playing movies on the TV whilst doing work on your laptop.

 

FYI if you want to change the display programmatically and are on Windows 7 or up you can easily do it using these functions:

 

 

// Extend
SetDisplayConfig(0, NULL,0, NULL,(SDC_APPLY | SDC_TOPOLOGY_EXTEND));

// Duplicate
SetDisplayConfig(0, NULL,0, NULL,(SDC_APPLY | SDC_TOPOLOGY_CLONE));
 


#11 hikarihe   Members   -  Reputation: 243

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 01 March 2013 - 04:39 AM

thank u! I don't know why but now the laptop recognizes the tv and the tv now says "video format not supported"



#12 Rattrap   Members   -  Reputation: 1793

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 01 March 2013 - 06:58 AM

What resolution is the laptop trying to output to the TV?



#13 hikarihe   Members   -  Reputation: 243

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 01 March 2013 - 07:10 AM

What resolution is the laptop trying to output to the TV?

 

1024x768. This is the lowest allowed through Control Panel\Appearance and Personalisation\Display\Screen Resolution



#14 Rattrap   Members   -  Reputation: 1793

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 01 March 2013 - 07:16 AM

You might try changing to one of the standard high def resolutions and see if you have any more luck.  1280x720 or 1920x1080.






Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS