What do Coders need to know?

Started by
13 comments, last by Got_Rhythm 11 years, 1 month ago

Good evening, I am designing a game, and soon I will need to begin seeking out a coder or programmer (maybe several) to bring it to life.

I am very new to all of this, so what I am asking is- what would a programmer need to know in order to give a reasonable estimate of time and money they would charge to complete it (U.S dollars). Please allow me to give an outline, and let me know what more information is required.

Most of the headers contain links to my website, which have mock-ups of the game screens, for a better idea of the game format.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pack for Coders

Necromancer, The Fight For Life is a 2D RPG to be programmed in C++, C#, Unity or whatever

software is most appropriate, using sprites for animation and simple graphics. The game can be played

with mouse and keyboard and compatible with Microsoft Windows. In terms of mechanics and complexity

it is almost identical to Gameboy Pokemon games, the main feature of which is monster capturing and battling.

Screens-

Title Screen

Fade in and out company logo, fade in title screen with 4 options.

New- Starts a slideshow of 5 still slides with music and
voiceover, then the game begins.

Load- Restores a previously saved game state.

Options- Change music volume, sfx volume.

Website- Opens a separate window that shows the company website.

World Map

Character sprite can move up, down, left and right on a
tiled surface (using basic walking sprite animation). When the sprite
encounters a tile with a town on it, the game screen changes to a town, there
is also a “random chance” while moving of entering a battle with NPCs. On the
World Map screen at any time the player can enter the options screen with a
button press.

Towns

Character sprite can move up, down, left and right. When