Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Change addressing mode with ID3DXSprite


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
8 replies to this topic

#1 Tispe   Members   -  Reputation: 1015

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 03 March 2013 - 02:05 PM

Hi, I currently use mirror addressing mode when drawing texturized meshes. And it works great.

device->SetSamplerState(0, D3DSAMP_ADDRESSU, D3DTADDRESS_MIRROR);
device->SetSamplerState(0, D3DSAMP_ADDRESSV, D3DTADDRESS_MIRROR);

 

However, when I try to tile sprites with the ID3DXSprite interface, I overload the RECT parameter in the Draw() method. For example, the texture is 64x64 pixels, but I want to tile it for 200x200 pixels big. But the sprite is still in Clamp addressing mode. Where do I change it to mirror or wrap?

 

SetRect(&texBox, 0, 0, 200, 200);
...
...
sprite->Draw(pTexture, &texBox, &Center, &Position, Color);

 



Sponsor:

#2 Tispe   Members   -  Reputation: 1015

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 03 March 2013 - 02:44 PM

Solved: Did not realize that the Begin() method of ID3DXSprite set it defualt to clamp. I do that SetSamplerStates as above, AFTER Begin()....



#3 Tispe   Members   -  Reputation: 1015

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 10 March 2013 - 10:55 AM

Ok, I hate to bump this but I ran into another problem.

 

When I render my GUI I need to have different addressing modes for different sprites.

 

But, it seems that I can only set it once after begin(). If I try to set the addressing mode on per sprite basis, the change gets ignored. Should I be able to change the addressing mode on a per sprite basis?



#4 mhagain   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 7821

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 10 March 2013 - 11:33 AM

You need to Flush the current batch before changing the addressing mode.


It appears that the gentleman thought C++ was extremely difficult and he was overjoyed that the machine was absorbing it; he understood that good C++ is difficult but the best C++ is well-nigh unintelligible.


#5 Tispe   Members   -  Reputation: 1015

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 10 March 2013 - 12:03 PM

hmmm. So the ID3DXSprite interface has buit in batching? neat.



#6 mhagain   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 7821

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 11 March 2013 - 07:30 AM

Behind the scenes ID3DXSprite is just a wrapper around vertex/index buffers and draw calls - it's not a native interface at all.

 

So, when you call ID3DXSprite::Begin all that's happening is that some state is set up.  Call ID3DXSprite::Draw and all that happens is some data is added to a dynamic vertex buffer.  ID3DXSprite::Flush actually issues the DrawIndexedPrimitive call (which may be also issued by Draw if the buffer would overflow).  ID3DXSprite::End calls a Flush and restores the state to what it was before Begin was called.

 

You can log a frame using PIX and examine the D3D calls that the interface makes to confirm (also useful to troubleshoot issues such as this).


It appears that the gentleman thought C++ was extremely difficult and he was overjoyed that the machine was absorbing it; he understood that good C++ is difficult but the best C++ is well-nigh unintelligible.


#7 Tispe   Members   -  Reputation: 1015

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 11 March 2013 - 04:24 PM

Will ID3DXSprite optimize/batch by drawing everything that shares a texture at the same time?



#8 mhagain   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 7821

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 11 March 2013 - 07:26 PM

I haven't checked in PIX but I would be shocked if it didn't - why not try it yourself?  Draw something like 4000 (or 40000 or whatever it takes) sprites with the same texture, then draw them individually with a Flush call after each, and see what the performance difference is like.

 

Alternatively run your program under PIX and check the D3D calls being made.


It appears that the gentleman thought C++ was extremely difficult and he was overjoyed that the machine was absorbing it; he understood that good C++ is difficult but the best C++ is well-nigh unintelligible.


#9 blueshogun96   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 876

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 12 March 2013 - 06:56 PM

I prefer to avoid using ID3DXSprite to avoid confusion and portability (I found out the hard way that the 360 XDK didn't support it).  What I ended up doing is writing my own 2D sprite rendering code with an Orthographic projection and HLSL shaders.  Then you won't have to worry about state blocks, implement your own batching code, renderstates are a bit more straight forward, etc.

 

I can share it if you'd like.  Right now, I'm on my Macbook again, so I have no Direct3D code on it's HDD.

 

Shogun.


Follow Shogun3D on the official website: http://shogun3d.net

 

blogger.png twitter.png tumblr_32.png facebook.png





Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS