• Create Account

How feasible is using the NDK?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
15 replies to this topic

#1 Seabolt   Members   -  Reputation: 633

0Likes

Posted 06 March 2013 - 10:14 AM

Hey, sorry to piggy back on this thread, but I'm also just doing an introductory look into android, but I'm looking to use the NDK. How feasible is using the NDK? How easy is it to integrate an already made C++ engine to work with Android? I know there is some unavoidable Java code that I'll have to write to query platform features and such, but how intrusive is that code?

I'm an experienced C++ programmer and would really like to target the platform if it doesn't require a whole rewrite of my engine.

Perception is when one imagination clashes with another

Sponsor:

#2 frob   Moderators   -  Reputation: 19853

0Likes

Posted 06 March 2013 - 11:34 AM

Spitting this off to its own thread. Please start a new thread for a new question.
Check out my personal indie blog at bryanwagstaff.com.

#3 frob   Moderators   -  Reputation: 19853

2Likes

Posted 06 March 2013 - 11:36 AM

Exactly how easy or difficult it would be depends entirely on the code base.

There is no way to know with the information you provided.

If you have a small code base or an extremely simple code base it could be a relatively simple matter.

If you have a large code base or an extremely complex code base it could be a relatively complex matter.

#4 Seabolt   Members   -  Reputation: 633

0Likes

Posted 06 March 2013 - 11:58 AM

Hah fair enough, sorry to intrude on the other thread.