• Create Account

Existing 3D Game Engine for Gameplay Programming

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
33 replies to this topic

#1 royibernthal   Members   -  Reputation: 154

0Likes

Posted 09 March 2013 - 04:38 AM

Hi,

I have roughly 6 years of experience in programming 2D games, in Adobe Flash ActionScript 3.0 (OOP).

I've now decided to move on and become a C++ Gameplay Programmer in 3D games.

I'm looking to develop my Gameplay Programming skills in an engine that will open doors in the future.

I'm trying to avoid engines that use their own special scripting language (e.g. Unreal Engine 3 - UnrealScript), and focus on ones that allow me to program in C++.

Would you recommend using CryEngine 3? or possibly even waiting for Unreal Engine 4?

Keeping in mind that I most likely won't be able to get a license for whatever I make on the first run.

If not, should I go for smaller engines that allow free commercial use? If so, which?

My goal is to eventually work in one of the big game companies (CDProjektRed, Blizzard, Ubisoft...).

Sponsor:

#2 cgx11   Members   -  Reputation: 130

3Likes

Posted 09 March 2013 - 11:15 PM

Hey Royibernthal, 

If you're really wanting to start out easy then I'd suggest looking at a game engine called Unity.  Unity basic is free of charge and a pretty easy engine to start with, in my opinion anyway. You can find that at www.unity3d.com. Unity uses UnityScript and C Sharp (C#), the engine is widely used by small-time game developers and both languages are relatively okay to learn.

There are many advantages to using Unity such as:

• There is a large Unity community on and off the unity forums. It's easy to find and discuss topics. This is also a great way of finding solutions to any coding errors you may run into.