• Create Account

Creating a "Music Video Game"?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 goldenmommy   Members   -  Reputation: 113

0Likes

Posted 09 March 2013 - 07:31 PM

I'm primarily a composer looking to experiment with the development and creation of interactive musical games.  I am using the word "game" liberally, here.  I am interested in environments where input by the "player" in a visual/physical space generates or otherwise directly influences the sounds that are heard.  I would probably want to start out with something simple like the Eno/Chilver collaborations.  I am more interested, however, in direct and perhaps more predictable control over the sounds by the player than is offered by those ambient experiments, where the music and sound are more abstractly or metaphorically related than anything else.  I do have a few more ambitious ideas I would be interested in pursuing if I am able to accomplish simpler tasks first.  Basically, I am just in need of some direction as I don't really know where to begin.  I have no background in programming but I am willing to learn.  Max/MSP? PureData? A non-visual language? Or should I start with a game engine and work backwards to get the sounds in? Or perhaps I underestimate the difficulty of such a project and should just forget about it? As is probably evident from this post, I am quite clueless.  Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Sponsor:

#2 Nercury   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 766

1Likes

Posted 09 March 2013 - 07:50 PM

I was working on something similar to this, it was an attempt to manipulate audio based on input from a webcam or camera.

We used C++, SDL, OpenCV and SDL_sound.