• Create Account

Smart Pointers and Resource Management (SDL)

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 SonicD007   Members   -  Reputation: 457

0Likes

Posted 11 March 2013 - 08:20 AM

Hey everyone,  I'm trying to create a simple resource management system and I would look someone to look over this small snippet of code to make sure I coded this correctly, as it is my first time using boost::shared_ptr.  I would also like to know when I would use SDL_FreeSurface() or how would I pass it to the shared pointer to do it for me in regards to resource management.  I know I need to somehow make it so I can load any resource but for now I want to test everything using just SDL_Surface*.  Thanks!

//In the ResourceController.h file, this private variable is declared
std::map<std::string, std::shared_ptr<SDL_Surface*>> textures;
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

bool ResourceController::LoadResource(std::string filePath, std::string keyName)
{
SDL_Surface* temp = SDL_LoadBMP(filePath.c_str());
std::shared_ptr<SDL_Surface*> foo(&temp); //I think this is correct.  I'm pointing to the address of the temp pointer which points to the resource in memory
if (temp)
{
textures.insert(std::make_pair(keyName, foo));
return true;
}
return false;
}

std::shared_ptr<SDL_Surface*> ResourceController::GetResource(std::string keyName)
{
return textures[keyName];
}

Edited by SonicD007, 11 March 2013 - 08:20 AM.

Sponsor:

#2 SiCrane   Moderators   -  Reputation: 9386

1Likes

Posted 11 March 2013 - 08:33 AM