Re-starting?

Started by
16 comments, last by matrisking 11 years ago

I've been making numerous posts on my blog about not knowing the C++ language very well. And I don't. The problem is, I know it pretty well. I just don't know it correctly. I learned wrong things from a ten-year old book. I've been trying to learn Java (Head First Java, Second Edition), and it's all fine, however I'm wondering: Should I learn Python.

I really want to learn so many things, and I can't decide between starting over with Python or Java (I quite literally mean starting over). I'm starting over so that I can learn programming the correct way, without learning things that aren't true. Should I abandon the java I know and start with Python, or should I continue with Java? I'm torn.

(I'm still working on finishing my projects in C++, however after I finish my current projects I will either be full-time Java or Python)

I'm a game programmer and computer science ninja !

Here's my 2D RPG-Ish Platformer Programmed in Python + Pygame, with a Custom Level Editor and Rendering System!

Here's my Custom IDE / Debugger Programmed in Pure Python and Designed from the Ground Up for Programming Education!

Want to ask about Python, Flask, wxPython, Pygame, C++, HTML5, CSS3, Javascript, jQuery, C++, Vimscript, SFML 1.6 / 2.0, or anything else? Recruiting for a game development team and need a passionate programmer? Just want to talk about programming? Email me here:

hobohm.business@gmail.com

or Personal-Message me on here !

Advertisement

I think python is great, if you want to learn more about programming, and less about syntax of a language. I think you should continue with c++ though, it's a waste if you leave half way. And those articles, would be nice if you finish them.

Why all this one-or-the-other thinking?

Pick up both and learn them side by side.

Wielder of the Sacred Wands
[Work - ArenaNet] [Epoch Language] [Scribblings]