• Create Account

Structuring the server-client interaction in a tick based multiplayer online game

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
1 reply to this topic

#1 Bogdanovist   Members   -  Reputation: 113

0Likes

Posted 03 April 2013 - 06:28 PM

Hi All,

I am an experienced programmer, but my background is in scientific computing (number crunching..) using old school languages (mainly C/C++ but also FORTRAN). I am looking to get into web game dev as a side project and have been learning some more modern web capable languages including java-script/HTML5/CSS and python for server side scripting, but I'm still a novice and don't have 'the big picture' of web programming fully formed in my mind yet.

I've written a bare bones prototype of a web based sports manager game which uses HTML5/JS for the client side (training players, selecting sqauds, setting tactics etc) and python for the server side computations of the game result. I am after 2 things, the first is a sanity check that the basic structure I'm planning and have partially implemented is sane and the second is where to host this in order to alpha/beta test the game once it's closer to completion.

Here is the basic structure of the game at present:

* Client side in HTML5/JS running in a web browser on desktop or mobile device sends info to server about team management. All this info is to be stored on the server in a MySQL DB. I'm shaky on implementing JS for clients to modify DB contents, any hints here?