Will this 3D game (in addition to some 2D) be anough for me to get a job?

Started by
9 comments, last by Tom Sloper 11 years ago

Hello,

I am an aspiring game programmer. Currently I am in my 3rd year (of 4) of studies (Computer Science).

I am writing this topic to get some advice about a 3D game I will develop that will help me get a job in the industry.

Experience:
I am experienced with the following programming languages:
1) C++ -- developed 3 2D games
2) C# -- developed 1 2D game (using XNA)
3) Java -- developed 1 2D game (on android)
4) D -- developed a ray tracer (which is fairly limited at this time).

The games can be found here:
http://greenbits.webs.com/games.htm

Here is a picture of the raytracer:
http://i46.tinypic.com/2cwn3wx.png

The future:
During the last week I decided to make a 3D game to use for getting a job in the industry. As I understand, it is a requirement to have a 3D game in my portfolio (please correct me if I am wrong).

So I was thinking of a stealth game that will be 3D, with physics and good AI.
Story: The story is short. The hero gets abducted and must escape the place where he has awoken at (a forest maybe).

It will feature a top down camera, like league of legends (similarities stop here).

Here is a prototype picture I painted.
2hn2u6h.jpg

The player starts at the lower left corner and must reach the top right one.
In the middle of the stage there is an enemy who is partolling the area.
* The player cannot attack/kill anyone.
* If the player steps into the "view radius" of an enemy, he will be spotted. The enemy will run towards the player and kill him. So the player must not get spotted.
* When the player walks, he is making noise. If the noise circle (sphere in the game) of the player intersects with the hearing circle of an enemy, the enemy will get in "alert" state. He will walk towards the position where the noise came from and try to find who did it.