• Create Account

Server design for a mobile MMO game

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
1 reply to this topic

#1 mankut   Members   -  Reputation: 117

0Likes

Posted 15 April 2013 - 05:03 PM

Hi all,

I am a C++ programmer of 6 years and I worked in a company who worked on lobby based multiplayer games before, so I am not a total noob.

Me and my coworker want to create a simple mobile mmo which has 3D rendering, point and click walking, combat and trading.

We pretty much know we are going with RakNet for our networking but we are unsure how to best design the actual system.

The mobile can only render so much players on the screen so we would have to limit each map to like 1-50 players? Would a channel based system

be appropriate to sort this? For example as users join a map and it overflows past 50, the 51st player would be transferred to channel 2 which is an exact copy of the previous map. Am I thinking on the right lines here? if anyone has worked on something like this I would love to hear your ideas, if this was a desktop MMO the whole process would be much simpler since the client could render much more and the network is much more reliable (not wireless).

Say the game gets popular since we want to release the client for free and use microtransactions as a revenue source, if 5000 players suddenly join we need to think in advance what is going to happen, ofcourse we do plan shards and keeping max players on a server to 1000-1500 anyway.

Sponsor:

#2 frob   Moderators   -  Reputation: 20107

1Likes

Posted 16 April 2013 - 10:45 AM

What does rendering have to do with the networking?  The two are independent.

Networking is the way the clients communicate with each other and remain in sync.  This will be your biggest concern.