• Create Account

OO in a PHP/mySQL RPG Game

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
11 replies to this topic

#1 pintee   Members   -  Reputation: 131

0Likes

Posted 19 April 2013 - 06:43 PM

First off excuse the amount of acronyms in the title.smile.png

This is my first time posting on these forums and I was hoping some game dev. experts could answer my question.

I am in the process of learning PHP/mySQL and web development in general and I was wondering if OO in PHP fits into the equation(if it does at all). Can you do without OO or is it a necessity for what I'm trying to do? Is it more efficient to use OO?

At the moment I suspect that I can get away with using creating objects and classes and just do everything as tables in mySQL. For example this is my implementation of weapons in the game:

Select * from Characters ;

+----+------+-----
| id | name | ...
+----+------+-----
| 1 | Fred |
| 2 | Bob |
+----+------+

select * from WeaponTypes ;

+----+----------+--------+------------+-----
| id | name | damage | max_damage | ...
+----+----------+--------+------------+-----
| 33 | M1 rifle | 100 | 100 |
| 44 | stick | 5 | 8 |
+----+----------+--------+------------+

select * from Weapons ; (after a bit of game play)

+-----+---------------+--------+-----
| id | weaponType_id | damage | ...
+-----+---------------+--------+-----
| 555 | 33 | 80 |
| 666 | 44 | 8 |
+-----+---------------+--------+

select * from CharacterWeapons ;

+------+---------+-----------+-----
| id | char_id | weapon_id | ...
+------+---------+-----------+-----
| 7777 | 1 | 555 | <- Fred's got his "silghtly worn" M1
| 8888 | 2 | 666 | <- Bob's now got himself a pointed stick.
+------+---------+-----------+