• Create Account

Accelerated C++ or Programming principles and practice using C++?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
4 replies to this topic

#1 stein102   Members   -  Reputation: 475

0Likes

Posted 19 April 2013 - 09:15 PM

Which book would you recommend for a beginner to C++? I've programmed in Java for a while and want to learn C++ now. Which book would be best for me to learn from?

Sponsor:

#2 superman3275   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2011

0Likes

Posted 19 April 2013 - 10:10 PM

Accelerated C++, by far. It's even better if you have experience with another language (like Java :))!

Programming Principles and Practice using C++ might be better once you have a firm grip of C++.

Cheers :)!

I'm a game programmer and computer science ninja ph34r.png!

Here's my 2D RPG-Ish Platformer Programmed in Python + Pygame, with a Custom Level Editor and Rendering System!

Here's my Custom IDE / Debugger Programmed in Pure Python and Designed from the Ground Up for Programming Education!

Want to ask about Python, Flask, wxPython, Pygame, C++, HTML5, CSS3, Javascript, jQuery, C++, Vimscript, SFML 1.6 / 2.0, or anything else? Recruiting for a game development team and need a passionate programmer? Just want to talk about programming? Email me here:

hobohm.business@gmail.com

or Personal-Message me on here smile.png!

#3 Matt-D   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 1453

2Likes

Posted 20 April 2013 - 08:17 AM

"Accelerated C++" moves at a faster (IMO: optimal) pace and works great if you have programmed before (in any programming language). OTOH, it doesn't cover C++11.