• Create Account

Do I need the CS degree to make it out there?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
18 replies to this topic

#1 tedsta   Members   -  Reputation: 258

1Likes

Posted 25 April 2013 - 01:32 AM

Hey all, if you want to skip my background, my question is: Do I need a college degree to have a successful career as a programmer (primarily as a game programmer).

If you want to tailor your response to be specific to my situation, I would be very grateful! Here is my background info:

I'm 18 years old, and I've been programming since I was 10 years old. My dad handed me an ancient book on C programming and told me that if  I learned to program, I could make my own video games. Now what 10-year-old doesn't want to make a video game? I hated reading of course, so I just skipped straight to the code examples. When I dried that book out, I moved to the vast ocean of Google to learn everything I know about C++ today. Now, I'm finishing up my freshman year of college as a CS student. I work part-time as a programmer for a genetic research facility under the USDA to pay my rent.

Most of my experience is in game development, but I also enjoy artificial intelligence (mainly artificial neural networks), massively parallel GPU programming, robotics, and OS-level programming (I wrote a simple OS that went into pmode and loaded a simple shell back in my junior year of high school. Bootloader in Assembly, kernel in C).

I learned Java in a weekend and made an Android game the following month, and you can find that in my signature. I also wrote 2 game engines that I use for all of my hobby projects - one for 2D and the other for 3D. Getting amped up to use my Fission engine in this weekend's Ludum Dare!!! This will be my 5th time doing it smile.png