Which language to start with?

Started by
8 comments, last by SimonForsman 10 years, 11 months ago

First off, I'm going to say that I know that this has been asked before, but I just wanted to have the seven billionth topic out there.

Second off, I have no experience and have heard good things about Java and Python. I know most people say that C++ is the best, but I don't feel comfortable getting that in-depth into it, and have actually made the mistake of trying to learn it first, and it burned me out. I am making this post after trying several times to get into C++ and failed miserably.

So... Basically what would be a halfway decent beginner program, and please don't post unless you think you can give a reasonable resource to learn it by, preferably an online one.

Thanks a ton!

Advertisement

If you read through those billion topics you mentioned, you'll find that this link will help you out a lot. That should explain everything better than I can. In short, it doesn't really matter what language you pick so long as you pick a language and start programming.

Going to be a troll here, I personally despise Java, go with Python if those are your only choices. But, as David suggests, follow the link, read it and then decide for yourself what you want to use. Really, ignore my comment, if you like Java, go for it. My opinion is based on the other side of the field where I am a C++/C# person and I despise Java for lack of explicit control, which is something you don't need to worry about yet. :)

Just want to say thanks. I actually found that link soon after I posted this topic, David.M so thanks a ton for the help. (I know it didn't technically help me, but if I hadn't looked that would have pointed me in the same direction that I took... so yeah.)