Multi-threading in games

Started by
4 comments, last by Dynamo_Maestro 10 years, 11 months ago

Hi, I'm learning how to create threads on SDL and at Qt on the same time and my question is connected with it. Is there are real application for multi-threading in games, especially in nowadays games, are multiple threads used often in game development? And can you give me some examples for using this technique in games creation? Thank you :)

Deltron Zero and Automator.

Advertisement

There is a huge application. Almost all major games (now, because of how easy multithreading is becoming, indie games also) are multithreaded. Many AAA games even have support for up to eight threads (Battlefield 3 and games like it).

So yes, multithreading is pretty important :)!

Cheers :)!

I'm a game programmer and computer science ninja !

Here's my 2D RPG-Ish Platformer Programmed in Python + Pygame, with a Custom Level Editor and Rendering System!

Here's my Custom IDE / Debugger Programmed in Pure Python and Designed from the Ground Up for Programming Education!

Want to ask about Python, Flask, wxPython, Pygame, C++, HTML5, CSS3, Javascript, jQuery, C++, Vimscript, SFML 1.6 / 2.0, or anything else? Recruiting for a game development team and need a passionate programmer? Just want to talk about programming? Email me here:

hobohm.business@gmail.com

or Personal-Message me on here !

Multi-threading in indie games? Wow :) Gotta look more on that then :D

Deltron Zero and Automator.

Keep in mind, unless threads are used for a -good- reason they are a total waste and if anything, could lower performance.

That said, for anything that can run asynchronously really where the main thread doesn't need to stop and wait for it, definitely a performance boon.

Threading isn't exactly some mystical art it just requires preparation and proper areas to use it in. For some languages there is a lot more built in support for threading as well.