• Create Account

Question from a noob!

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
11 replies to this topic

#1 PaperMariolover   Members   -  Reputation: 116

1Likes

Posted 28 April 2013 - 11:07 AM

So, I have a question.  I'm a beginner game designer, and I really want to make my whole game from scratch by myself.  And, since the game is going to have semi high-end graphics, the game is going to take a while...probably years in the making.  What I wanted to ask, especially to the experts, what in your mind makes up the bulk of a game.  Is it scripting?  Is it dialogue?  Is it graphics?  

Thanks

-PaperMariolover

Sponsor:

#2 SimonForsman   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 5951

3Likes

Posted 28 April 2013 - 12:06 PM

So, I have a question.  I'm a beginner game designer, and I really want to make my whole game from scratch by myself.  And, since the game is going to have semi high-end graphics, the game is going to take a while...probably years in the making.  What I wanted to ask, especially to the experts, what in your mind makes up the bulk of a game.  Is it scripting?  Is it dialogue?  Is it graphics?  

Thanks
-PaperMariolover

it depends on the game. for AAA games most of the time is spent on content. (artwork, cutscenes, voice acting, sound effects, music, levels etc, etc). indie games tend to be far less content heavy and thus programming eats up a larger chunk of the time for those, in some cases there is pretty much no graphics, music or sound to speak of and content is procedurally generated (games like nethack are pretty close to 100% programming)
I don't suffer from insanity, I'm enjoying every minute of it.
The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good ideas!

#3 Tom Sloper   Moderators   -  Reputation: 9053

0Likes

Posted 28 April 2013 - 12:15 PM