Game Design Degree

Started by
9 comments, last by noir2099 10 years, 11 months ago
I am actually looking to go back to college and get my degree. I was just wondering, if anybody here had any insight as to whether a Game Design degree would be worth obtaining.
Advertisement

Worth obtaining in what sense? To get a job or get better at game design?

I graduated with a design degree and I landed a job from my end of year show. It's really really rare though, in all honesty I wouldn't recommend it unless you want to start your own indie company after you graduate, or if you are talented in art or code as well.

The degree I took was amazing, it opened my eyes and designing comes easily to me now.

Artist and game designer.

Portfolio: http://www.lapinsh.com/

PM me if you need art or design and are serious about completing your project.

You can't take the sky from me.

Thanks for the info. Yes I want a career change. At the moment Game Design sounds very intriguing. However, i am very interested in programming too, but the school I am currently looking at doesn't offer a good programming degree at least not online.

I want a career change.

From what?

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Currently i work in wireless sales and support.

looking to go back to college and get my degree. I was just wondering, if anybody here had any insight as to whether a Game Design degree would be worth obtaining.

... the school I am currently looking at doesn't offer a good programming degree at least not online

So, you dropped out the first time, and never finished your degree.

A "game design" degree can have value, yes. But is that the right degree for you, and can you afford it? Why did you choose that degree and that school? Oh, wait. I get it. You're talking about an ONLINE game design degree.

Why? Why online, why that degree? What's your thinking? Have you read this forum's FAQs? (Your post was moved from Game Design to the Breaking In forum, since you asked about degrees.)