Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

FREE SOFTWARE GIVEAWAY

We have 4 x Pro Licences (valued at $59 each) for 2d modular animation software Spriter to give away in this Thursday's GDNet Direct email newsletter.


Read more in this forum topic or make sure you're signed up (from the right-hand sidebar on the homepage) and read Thursday's newsletter to get in the running!


Help! Need solution for no more move problem in line drawing match-3 game.


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 SongkranW   Members   -  Reputation: 102

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 02 May 2013 - 09:54 PM

Hi I'm the creater of the Running From The Dead a buggy match-3 zombie survival rpg game on iOS.

The game is play like DungeonRaid.

What should I do when there come a situation where thereis no three match available on screen?

Currently I have a trouble detecting when this is happen.

Any suggestion on detecting the event or any ways to prevent it.

Thank.

 

 

Game ScreenShot 

http://i.imgur.com/ToYF4D9.jpg

 



Sponsor:

#2 Buster2000   Members   -  Reputation: 1778

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 03 May 2013 - 01:29 AM

I am also part way through developing a match 3 game on iOS but, I have done it in such a way that it scans ahead and generates new blocks so that there is almost never a situation where there is no matches left.  In the very rare case where it does happen then I'm just presenting a game over but, I'm not sure what you are asking as I have never played DungeonRaid.  Are you asking what should happen to your little guy at the top?

By the way your game looks good.  Much better than my current programmer art :S



#3 Dragonsoulj   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2128

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 03 May 2013 - 01:29 AM

Since you have to have 2 adjacent pieces to create a 3-group, do a search of your entire grid for pairs. If there are no pairs, you can't make a match. If there are pairs, do a search to see if you can make 3 based on them. You will also have to find pieces that have a different piece in between them to handle cases where you switch the middle.



#4 SongkranW   Members   -  Reputation: 102

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 03 May 2013 - 05:04 AM

Since you have to have 2 adjacent pieces to create a 3-group, do a search of your entire grid for pairs. If there are no pairs, you can't make a match. If there are pairs, do a search to see if you can make 3 based on them. You will also have to find pieces that have a different piece in between them to handle cases where you switch the middle.

Thank you Dragonsoulj your way seem to look good. I'm now trying to code this to test.



#5 Buster2000   Members   -  Reputation: 1778

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 03 May 2013 - 05:40 AM

You don't need two adjacent pieces to make a 3 group though.  You could have piece|gap|piece and still be able to make a three group.



#6 Dragonsoulj   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2128

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 03 May 2013 - 09:47 AM

You don't need two adjacent pieces to make a 3 group though. You could have piece|gap|piece and still be able to make a three group.

 

You will also have to find pieces that have a different piece in between them to handle cases where you switch the middle.

 

Uh...yeah, got that.






Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS