• Create Account

BEGINNER: Issues rendering a textured quad primitive and textured meshes at the same time (DirectX)

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
2 replies to this topic

#1 shadowbreaker   Members   -  Reputation: 102

0Likes

Posted 04 May 2013 - 12:55 PM

Hi,

I'm a total newbie to DirectX.  I am programming a simple 3D game as of the moment.  When I was trying to implement a backdrop for my scene, I encountered a problem.  I can't display a textured quad, which serves as my "skybox" and my textured meshes at the same time.

The game is like a tail gunner.  The camera is fixed looking at 0,0,1 (x,y,z left-hand coords).  Enemies come toward the player from the positive z axis.  The player just shoots the enemies that come toward him/her.  It's game over when a number of enemies fly past the player.

I am almost done with the game.  I am just implementing a skybox.  I am quite aware of another method of creating a skybox for a game from one of my tutorial books, though I did not do it here because I was doing what I thought was a quick fix (by putting a plane facing the camera that is textured to serve as a background, mainly because the camera doesn't move and because I love experimenting).

The problem I am having is that I can't run the render code for the enemies (textured mesh) and the backdrop (quad made from primitives and then textured) at the same time.  If I comment out one, I can view the other on screen.  I am just getting a black screen if both are trying to render in one frame step.