A Super Mario Source Code

Started by
5 comments, last by Piotr Podsiad?y 10 years, 11 months ago

I am a Beginner of game programming, i wrote a simple game like super mario using the C language and MappyAL Library.

I think you will learn a lot of 2D game programming skills from this game, just enjoy!

Advertisement
not bad at all, but even if you don't like OO (like me, i think people generally go way overboard with OO,)
it's still nice to use certain aspects of it, especially with matrices and vectors
passing pointers around is also something i like less and less, since its so easy to pass references around smile.png

its just better code, with no effort smile.png
nice demo though
Thanks for sharing. I think those monolithic subroutines can be split into many smaller subroutines, to help readability.

passing pointers around is also something i like less and less, since its so easy to pass references around

Yes, but there is no pass by reference in C, so pointers will have to do.

I am having issues running the program on my computer. I get a message that changes it to windows 7 basic colour (but when does it not with Allegro apps?). The main issue I have is that it doesn't look like it refreshes/redraws itself and I move, and 5 seconds later I'll be at another portion of the level, frozen again. Is anyone else experiencing this?

Also, include the alleg42.dll with your exe as I had to put it in myself for it to run.

Regards,

Stitchs.

Ok, so I rarely download source code, but I'm assuming that since it's in C, I need something that isn't Visual Studio to view it, right?

Nice, I like it.

But as already mentioned, remember to put your required .dll's and other files in the zip.

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to play it on Linux. It seems like the game divides something by zero. I'm posting output from the debugger, hope it helps.

Program received signal SIGFPE, Arithmetic exception.