Platform and IDE dilemma with C++11

Started by
7 comments, last by Servant of the Lord 10 years, 11 months ago

Hey all,

I'm a C++ coder, and I used to always code with Xcode on Mac. Recently I boot-camped my iMac to run Windows XP, and then acquired Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate and proceeded to use that for C++ projects.

I fell in love with VS2010, and it seems that VS is the industry standard IDE for the type of software development I am interested in, so it would be fantastic to continue using it.

My problem is that VS2010 does not support C++11 features, and I hate writing out a new loop counter variable which is used once to then create a 'currentItem' pointer, it would be fantastic to be able to take advantage of C++11's features. I also try and keep up with the latest technologies and update my coding style to suit, so templates and the rest would be helpful.

If I could purchase Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate is there any way that could run on XP?

Could I configure VS2010 to run using GCC (or the MinGW equivalent), as GCC has C++11 features?

Is there any extensions/hacks/add-ins for VS2010 which can give me C++11 features?

Should I just switch to Xcode, or stay and labour with normal C++?

Thanks

mikenovemberoscar

Advertisement

No clue about the rest but for can you install 2012 on XP the answer is a big no, not even on vista afaik, win7+ only.

I think a better question is why you're even running XP...

While it's possible to switch the back-end of Visual Studio, it's also a non-trivial process that may end up ruining your choice of developing in Visual Studio in the first place.

I would suggest you upgrade your OS. Failing that, I would suggest never using XP, which would mean you would just use Xcode on OS X. Failing that, I would suggest installing Code::Blocks or Qt Creator and using GCC with an IDE that was meant to use it.