• Create Account

A super bad designs to avoid

• You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 warnexus   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 1505

0Likes

Posted 07 May 2013 - 01:42 AM

So I wrote this for my second project for Data Structures. The method chaining got out of control and I violated so many rules of encapsulation. 

I have 2 years with general programming experience so how could I gone wrong? Well, I was so focused on getting the features of the program to work. Once I understood how the features was suppose to work, i just hop on my seat and started typing. 

Behold my code:

// reduce exponent by one for all exponents greater than 1
  Main.getPolynomialHolder().get(polynomialIndex).getPolynomialVector().get(i).setExponent(Main.getPolynomialHolder().get(polynomialIndex).getPolynomialVector().get(i).getExponent()-1);

Yeah...not pretty one bit. I am gonna get a failing grade for this...*virtual smack on forehead*

Let this be a lesson to all newcomers on what not to do. This issue is actually scattered in multiple lines of code. Aw man I am doomed.

Edited by warnexus, 07 May 2013 - 01:43 AM.

Sponsor:

#2 ZebraQuake   Members   -  Reputation: 131

0Likes

Posted 07 May 2013 - 10:03 AM

You could have at least kept the property as it's own variable, haha.

//This is really pretty
Polynomial banana = Main.getPolynomialHolder().get(polynomialIndex).getPolynomialVector().get(i);
banana.setExponent(banana.getExponent() - 1);

#3 warnexus   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 1505

0Likes

Posted 07 May 2013 - 11:19 AM

//This is really pretty
Polynomial banana = Main.getPolynomialHolder().get(polynomialIndex).getPolynomialVector().get(i);

Yeah that could have been more readable. Someone on this forum once quoted saying at most you should do is " a.b() " which is a good quote.

#4 mhagain   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 8285

1Likes

Posted 07 May 2013 - 03:36 PM

//This is really pretty