• Create Account

FREE SOFTWARE GIVEAWAY

We have 4 x Pro Licences (valued at $59 each) for 2d modular animation software Spriter to give away in this Thursday's GDNet Direct email newsletter.

Read more in this forum topic or make sure you're signed up (from the right-hand sidebar on the homepage) and read Thursday's newsletter to get in the running!

A super bad designs to avoid

• You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 warnexus   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 1504

0Likes

Posted 07 May 2013 - 01:42 AM

So I wrote this for my second project for Data Structures. The method chaining got out of control and I violated so many rules of encapsulation. 

I have 2 years with general programming experience so how could I gone wrong? Well, I was so focused on getting the features of the program to work. Once I understood how the features was suppose to work, i just hop on my seat and started typing. 

Behold my code:

// reduce exponent by one for all exponents greater than 1
  Main.getPolynomialHolder().get(polynomialIndex).getPolynomialVector().get(i).setExponent(Main.getPolynomialHolder().get(polynomialIndex).getPolynomialVector().get(i).getExponent()-1);

Yeah...not pretty one bit. I am gonna get a failing grade for this...*virtual smack on forehead*

Let this be a lesson to all newcomers on what not to do. This issue is actually scattered in multiple lines of code. Aw man I am doomed.

Edited by warnexus, 07 May 2013 - 01:43 AM.

Sponsor:

#2 ZebraQuake   Members   -  Reputation: 131

0Likes

Posted 07 May 2013 - 10:03 AM

You could have at least kept the property as it's own variable, haha.

//This is really pretty
Polynomial banana = Main.getPolynomialHolder().get(polynomialIndex).getPolynomialVector().get(i);
banana.setExponent(banana.getExponent() - 1);

#3 warnexus   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 1504

0Likes

Posted 07 May 2013 - 11:19 AM

//This is really pretty