Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


first android program did not run correctly


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
7 replies to this topic

#1 nickme   Members   -  Reputation: 205

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 14 May 2013 - 08:58 PM

hi

 

i started learning android a few days ago, on windows 8 with eclipse.  i created the hello world project and when i ran it, the emulator appeared, but it just showed what may be the home screen, not what is shown in the graphical layout in activity_main.xml. according to some website, it suppose to show the hello world in white background.  when i clicked the emulator's button, nothing happen.  but the clock on the emulator worked, i saw the clock increased when i waited long enough (the clock advanced).

 

i suspect that that is because i did not set up the eclipse or android correctly but do not know what.  i first installed jre instead of jdk (is that the problem?) and then eclipse.

 

any help is appreciated



Sponsor:

#2 Khatharr   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2619

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 14 May 2013 - 10:15 PM

IIRC you have to send the app from eclipse to the running emulator, then wait for to install and start it up.


void hurrrrrrrr() {__asm sub [ebp+4],5;}

There are ten kinds of people in this world: those who understand binary and those who don't.

#3 nickme   Members   -  Reputation: 205

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 15 May 2013 - 08:43 AM

hi khatharr,

 

thanks for the reply.

 

what do you mean "send the app from eclipse to the running emulator"?  to build and click the run button?  can you elaborate?  

 

i waited for like 5 minutes, and nothing changed.

 

thanks


Edited by nickme, 15 May 2013 - 09:22 AM.


#4 frob   Moderators   -  Reputation: 16307

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 15 May 2013 - 10:34 AM

according to some website

The instructions you should be following are on the Building Your First App page of the Android developer site.

 

Have you followed those instructions?

 

If you get stuck on those, which instruction do you get stuck on?


Check out my personal indie blog at bryanwagstaff.com.

#5 nickme   Members   -  Reputation: 205

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 15 May 2013 - 01:59 PM

hi frob,

 

i downloaded the adt bundle in this website:

 

http://developer.android.com/sdk/installing/bundle.html

 

but i still get the same result.  it is suppose the most easy way to be able to launch android app.  



#6 frob   Moderators   -  Reputation: 16307

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 15 May 2013 - 02:35 PM

i downloaded the adt bundle in this website:

 

http://developer.android.com/sdk/installing/bundle.html

 

but i still get the same result.  it is suppose the most easy way to be able to launch android app.  

 

Following the guide step-by-step is the easiest way.  That doesn't mean it is a beginner topic, developing for a phone or tablet is hard enough when you are an experienced developer.

 

 

Exactly what step are you getting stuck with?

 

1. Did you install it correctly?

2. Did you create a project with eclipse, setting every value shown in the walkthrough?

3. Did you configure your project with a proper manifest as shown in the walkthrough?

4. Did you create a virtual device with the proper firmware as shown in the walkthrough?

5. Did you properly run the example program using Eclipse as shown in the walkthrough?

 

If you follow the walkthrough one step at a time it should work out of the box.


Check out my personal indie blog at bryanwagstaff.com.

#7 nickme   Members   -  Reputation: 205

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 15 May 2013 - 02:51 PM

hi frob,

 

1. i assume i install correctly, i do not see any installation error.

2. yes, i created a project.  it runs and loads the emulator.

3. i am sorry, i do not know what is proper manifest.

4. yes, i created a virtual device with target name: android 4.2.2

5. as i say in 2. the emulator load and ran but what is shown in the start screen of the emulator is not displaying the "Hello, World!" sad.png

 

i included the screen shot of the emulator below:

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • Screenshot (1).png


#8 nickme   Members   -  Reputation: 205

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 15 May 2013 - 05:41 PM

hi

 

i finally got it to run.  what happened was that i have to drag the lock in android start screen to the side to reveal a unlocked icon, then it appeared.  

 

i still having problems with setting up my kindle fire hd 7" to connect with the development computer.

 

i will yell another post when i can not solve it myself.

 

thanks everybody.






Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS