• Create Account

Starting out - Game programming questions

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
12 replies to this topic

#1 RomTimon   Members   -  Reputation: 118

1Likes

Posted 20 May 2013 - 06:58 PM

Hello.

Currently, I am a full-time web designer (or webmaster, whatever), but I want to go in to game development in the future. Right now, I am willing to learn all I can in the free time from my job. So atm, all i know is some PHP/CSS/HTML. Obviously, that has nothing to do with game development. Which is why I am here. From what I understood, C++ is a pretty good solid language for programming anything, but I think I will go with C# to start out, and if necessary, learn the C++ later on (Unless you will explain me a reason why I should not start with C#).

I do not want to just know how to program games, but that is my primary objective. So, if there is some kind of a book or course I can take that introduces the reader step by step to programming games with C# (or w/e other language you suggest me), but does not forget to explain the language itself, please give me a link to download/buy. Basically, a C# (or..) tutorial book, which covers the language and teaches how to apply that knowledge to game programming. I am a beginner in such programming, so I need to know the basics too. But I do want to apply that knowledge to game development ASAP.

My longterm goal is to participate in creating a great MMORPG. I am completely aware of the fact that I can not make an MMO just from the start. I intend to participate in creating one, but not now. That is my GOAL, not what I am trying to do right now. Right now, I am willing to learn everything necessary for that. I want to build several small games, perhaps a small 3d rpg too, before moving on.