Language Advice

Started by
12 comments, last by nooblet 10 years, 11 months ago

Hello!

First and foremost, I'm very very sorry for creating another thread about this same topic. I've been searching the internet for opinions regarding this, but there's quite the diversity in responses it appears. Basically, I'm in a pickle between learning C++ and C# at this point. I'd like to elaborate for those who are interested in helping me.

I've been programming for many years, on and off, originally learning C++ and then migrating to C# when I realized how much easier it was. I absolutely love to program, but when I start to need to learn the "intermediate" or "advanced" topics of a language, I start to get discouraged and stop programming for months. I want to dedicate an hour or two of my time each day for the next year or so to just learn a language from the absolute basics to the more advanced topics. I don't just want to develop games, I want to become a programmer. I know for a fact that I'll have to learn C++ at one point in my life, but when I think about pointers, linked lists, algorithms, etc., I just want to immediately say "nope" and go back to C# where it's nice and cozy and I have someone holding my hand.

Basically, I'm relatively comfortable with both; with C++ I stopped using it when pointers were involved, and with C#, I stopped when I realized I had no idea what dictionaries do, how to do exception handling, or how to handle events. I want to become a programmer but I always get intimidated when it comes to more complicated topics and discourage myself from programming the next day. Not only that, but I can't ever find any good resources that appeal and grab my attention, and when I search on the forums, it usually has outdated recommendations that don't really work for me.

Anyways, I hope that covered where I'm at. If you have any recommendations, please feel free to throw them my way. Thanks so much!