Drawing coordinates system axes in corner of screen

Started by
3 comments, last by adi0149 10 years, 11 months ago

Hi! I'd like to start off saying i don't have any programming training and very few knowledge, but i have messed around with several programming languages, designing tools to aid my everyday job (so i am a total amateur).

This time i'm working on something harder - it's a direct3d - mfc software and i am having lots of problems with it, since directx seems a bit hard.

Anyways... I have a direct3d environment in a mfc window and i would like to draw the coordinate system axes in the corner of the screen, as any 3d software has. I thought this would be no problem, since i found this topic, and that worked great but problems occurred when i started moving the camera around. I need the object to appear to be in the same spot, no matter how i pan, zoom or rotate the world (actually, i do these operations on the view matrix).

But it seems that i'm doing something wrong, and i was hoping someone could point me on the right direction, since the object i'm drawing is not scaled accordingly when i zoom, but it works perfect when panning or rotating.

I have also put up a

">youtube video to show you the symptoms.

This is my code for drawing the object:

void CDEMView::DrawSomeBox()
{
	// Define the needed matrices - object world, view and project 
	D3DXMATRIX matObjectWorld;
        D3DXMatrixIdentity (&matObjectWorld);	// object world matrix
	D3DXMATRIX matView;				
        D3DXMatrixIdentity (&matView);		// view matrix
	D3DXMATRIX matProjection;	
        D3DXMatrixIdentity (&matProjection);	// projection matrix

// Get the needed matrices
	_device->GetTransform(D3DTS_VIEW, &matView);
	_device->GetTransform(D3DTS_PROJECTION, &matProjection);

// Get the viewport
	D3DVIEWPORT9 viewport;
	_device->GetViewport(&viewport);

// Get the center point of the object		
	D3DXVECTOR3* p_centerPoint = BoxCenterVector; // this is from an external variable