• Create Account

We're offering banner ads on our site from just $5!

1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

A few painful questions about Databases

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
9 replies to this topic

#1 Nymall   Members   -  Reputation: 202

0Likes

Posted 25 May 2013 - 12:08 AM

Using: MySQL, PHP, JQuerry

Well, I have a few questions about database organization and I'm hoping you guys can help me out. I'm not new to programming - I'm mostly self-taught, and I've been doing it on and off since I was in my early teens. However, I've been finding information about organizing things very hard to track down...

I guess I should give an example. Right now I'm working on the framework for a web game for my wife. It's real simple, image mapping, point and click stuff, but I'm having some difficulty figuring out how to plan ahead just in case this game is live in 5~10 years(as unlikely as it is). At the moment the inventory is split into seven different tables, with a total of 600 columns combined for all of them.The farther I'm getting into this project, the more I'm wondering if each character should have their own table, and rows for each of the items they have, or if I should proceed as I have done.

So, in summary - ​Is it more efficient to have a table with 600+ columns and 100,000+ rows, or 100,000+ tables with a average of 100 rows each? How much weight does a empty entry add to the database? Is there a easy way to future proof the minimalist number of table concept without it eventually getting completely unmanageable?